Semantic Order
Anthologica Universe Atlas / Universes / Vana Gloria / The Second Language / Order / Semantic Order

The semantic order of the Second Language is based in the Divine Order.  There are two orders at work, branching (ordering meanings by hyper- and hyponym) and linear (ordering all meanings into a single list).

There are exactly 4373 "slots" for meaning, each corresponding to a (non-compound) word.  This represents four divisions of the Divine Order: the Supreme Being (1), the genders (4), the gods (16), the 3rd division (256), and the 4th division (4096). 

Branching Order

The branching order is based in hypernyms and hyponyms (though they may not always fit the strict linguistic definition of these terms). 

The "grand hypernym", top of the hierarchy without any hypernym of its own, is the word for the Supreme Being, the only "1st order" word.  The hyponyms of this are the words for the four genders (2nd order words).  From here the sense of hypernym and hyponym becomes stricter: the gods are represented by words defining a sub-category of words (3rd order words), each with 16 hyponyms (4th order words), each of those with 16 hyponyms (5th order words).

The following image demonstrates the branching order using a small sample of 2L vocabulary:


The grand hypernym is at the top.  In the second line are the 2nd order words, the four hyponyms of the grand hypernym.  The third line contains a selection of 3rd order words, the four hyponyms of "quixotic".

The fourth and fifth lines contain a more familiar example of the terms hyponym/hypernym: "albatross", "songbird", "falcon" etc. (5th order) are hyponyms of "bird" (4th order), which in turn is a hyponym of "creature" (3rd order).

These principles carry through the entire list of single syllable roots.  Every root has a hypernym in the order directly above it, following eventually back to the grand hypernym.

The place of a root in this hierarchy is generally given by an ordered set of one to three gods, e.g. Kinesis/Anthesis/Stasis or Genesis/Metamorphosis.  One god refers to a 3rd order word, two to a 4th order word, and three to a 5th order word.  The gods indicate the word's 3rd, 4th and 5th order hyponym/category:  Kinesis/Anthesis/Stasis refers to "puma", the Static hyponym of "cat", which is the Anthetic hyponym of "creature" (Kinetic).  "Falcon" is Kinesis/Kinesis/Crisis, i.e. the Critic hyponym of "bird", which is the Kinetic hyponym of "creature".  "Conifer", a 4th order word, is Gnosis/Kinesis, i.e. the Kinetic hyponym of "plant" (Gnostic). 

The 16 Major Categories

The 16 major categories of words are:

Name Syllables (Hypostasis)
Beings (Kinesis) - words for kinds of living creature
Properties (Metamorphosis)
Verbs (Crisis) - (grammatical verbs are not exclusive to this category)
Relations (Anthesis) - words involving the relationships between things, including kinship terms, honorifics, conjunctions, genitives and adpositions
Space (Genesis) - words involving space and direction
Time (Nemesis) - words involving time
Interaction (Synthesis) - words involving communication or interaction
Mind (Telesis) - words involving the mind, feelings, sensations and ideas
Parts (Analysis) - words for parts of things, e.g. body parts
Measure (Ascesis) - words involving measure or quantification, including numerals
Society (Physis) - words involving order, systems or society
Role (Noesis) - words involving roles within society
Plants (Gnosis) - words kinds of plant
Matter (Stasis) - words kinds of matter
Magical Syllables (Hubris)

Each category contains 273 words: 1 third order, its 16 fourth order hyponyms, and their 256 fifth order hyponyms.

Linear Order

The linear order is sorted by 1st, 2nd and 3rd category gods.  Words without all three categories are placed at the end of the lower order category corresponding to the word's final category:  Hypostasis/Kinesis comes directly after  Hypostasis/Kinesis/Kinesis, Physis/Nemesis comes directly after Physis/Nemesis/Nemesis, Genesis comes after the end of the Genesis/Genesis list, and so on. 

Quixotic is placed after the Hypostasis list (the 1st quixotic list), Aldonzaic after the Genesis list (2nd aldonzaic list), Sanchoic after Ascesis (3rd sanchoic list), and Dulcineaic after the Hubris list (4th dulcineaic list). 

The word for the Supreme Being is placed at the top of the linear order.

In practice this leads to lists of 17 words (a 4th order word and its 16 hyponyms), occasionally interspersed by one of the remaining 21 words.

read more Vocabulary Groups   see full hierarchy see discussion (1 message; 51 years ago) download attachment (vocaborder.png)